Skip to main content
Hero image

Los Angeles Declaration

Launched at the Summit of the Americas in Los Angeles, California in June 2022, the Los Angeles Declaration on Migration and Protection seeks to mobilize the entire region around bold actions that will transform our approach to managing migration in the Americas.

With this Declaration, countries across the Americas recognize the urgent need to work collaboratively to protect the dignity, life and human rights of all migrants, refugees, asylum seekers, and stateless persons regardless of migratory status.

The Los Angeles Declaration is organized around four key pillars and eleven action packages:

  1. Promoting Stability and Assistance for Communities of Destination, Origin, Transit, and Return
  2. Promoting Regular Pathways for Migration and International Protection 
  3. Promoting Humane Migration Management 
  4. Promoting a Coordinated Emergency Response.

The Los Angeles Declaration can be accessed here.

To date, 22 countries have endorsed the Declaration. 
The Declaration builds upon existing efforts and international commitments and advances the vision set forth in the Global Compact on Refugees and the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration (GCM) anchored in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.  
For more information, please see the fact sheet published by the US White House following the launch of the Los Angeles Declaration in June 2022, and the updated fact sheet the US Department of State published following the first meeting at the Ministerial level that took place in October 2022 in Lima, Peru.

Key Pillars

The Los Angeles Declaration is organized around four key pillars and eleven action packages